Mahi Mahi Salad with Cilantro Lime Dressing

>

Sometimes I eat complete crap. I like to think everyone does once and a while. Last weekend at Target we made an impulse buy in the dollar section, Kraft Macaroni and Cheese. Yikes! We also had some leftover hot dogs from a barbecue yesterday in our fridge this afternoon. And one of Senor’s favorite throwback meals is mac and cheese with cut-up hot dogs.  Are you really still wondering what crap I ate for lunch? Here it is, feel my shame?
Obviously I had to make up for my horribly unhealthy lunch with a much better dinner. I ended up making a pretty delicious salad with my own dressing made from lime, cilantro. olive oil, garlic and fresh ground black pepper. To be honest, it was good but not great. I used four limes and three tablespoons of olive oil. It was far too limey though. I think for the two of us, two limes and a bit more olive oil would have been better. The rest of the salad was pretty yummy though.

I tossed black beans (frozen ones from my freezer, heated for 1 minute in the microwave) with left over Pico de Gallo from the Huevos Rancheros we had yesterday, topped with blue cheese crumbles,  and half of a Mahi Mahi fillet for each of us.

My Pampered Chef chopper. It’s one of my very favorite kitchen tools.

There now, doesn’t that look A LOT tastier than the macaroni/hot dog disaster above? I’m not going to lie, the macaroni with hot dogs was pretty freaking good. There’s a reason we crave fats, sugars and salty foods. They’re delicious. But the healthy stuff can be pretty delicious too and I think with the right ratio of olive oil to lime juice this salad will have all of the yummy flavor combination that make for a crave-worthy meal.  I might switch out the blue cheese for some regular shredded mozzarella as well. The blue cheese is yummy, of course, but the strong flavor is a bit much mixed with the strong lime flavor.

Salad:

4oz Romaine
2oz Black Beans
1.5oz Blue Cheese
3oz Mahi Mahi
3oz Pico De Gallo

Dressing (full recipe for 2 salads)
Large Bunch of fresh cilantro
4 limes (I’m changing this to 2)
3 Tbl Olive Oil (I’m changing this to 4)
4 cloves fresh garlic
Ground Black pepper

Nutrition Info:
1 salad with half the dressing recipe:
Calories: 387.75
Fat: 23.46
Carbs: 20.43
Fiber:5.37
Sodium:450 mg
Protein:26.09


2 Comments on “Mahi Mahi Salad with Cilantro Lime Dressing”

  1. Miss_Riley says:

    >Thanks for the yum-o recipe! We tried it tonight but subsituted for some things for what we had around the house (ie. pico for black bean and corn relish, blue cheese for mexican shredded mix).

  2. Wee says:

    >Oooh, that version sounds pretty delicious too. I think I'll have to try that! I loooove corn salsa!


Leave a comment