Burrito Bowls

image

This isn’t a real post. And I don’t know when I’ll be able to get a second post going.  I know it’s been years since my last post. Life sort of got in the way. There was the year where I didn’t have my own kitchen, then we bought a house and spent several months updating and making it our own. Then we had a baby. He’s super cute. You get the point. Busy people, etc.

So this isn’t a real blog post, it’s just my dinner last night and when I finished making it I thought, “damn that looks too pretty not to take a picture of it and if I’m going to take a picture of it maybe I should write about it.” It’s just a quick at-home version of Chiptole’s burrito bowls. The best part, for me, of this dinner was that we grew the bell pepper, jalapenos and tomatoes in our garden. For the first time in years of gardening all of our plants are producing like crazy. It’s definitely making up for the years we spent at the community garden, filling a water barrel with a hose hooked up to a fire hydrant down the block and never getting any good tomatoes because squirrels, mice and humans would steal them.

image

Anyway, honestly I don’t know if I’ve actually written this post already. I might have but I don’t have time to go back and check and hey, even if I did, it was years ago. You could probably use a refresher on burrito bowls, right? They’re really complicated. At the very least, here are some pictures of my dinner. PS I hope you like cell phone pictures!

image
Burrito Bowls

1 cup long grain brown rice

two chicken breasts – already cooked is best

1/4 onion

two fresh jalapeños

1 red bell pepper

cherry/grape tomatoes

shredded cheese

greek yogurt

Boil your rice and once it’s mostly cooked add some chopped onion. I find this gives some good flavor while easing the bite of the onion. While the rice is boiling, get your meat ready. I used leftover chicken breast from a previous dinner. Just gently shred it, toss it into a microwavable dish with a cover, add two fresh jalapeños, thinly sliced, some chili powder a little salt pepper and garlic and enough water so the chicken is covered about halfway. Microwave for six minutes stiring once halfway through. Make sure you take the seeds out of the jalapeños or you’ll probably burn your mouth off.

Chop the pepper and slice it the cherry tomatoes in half. That’s it for cooking, once the rice and chicken are done just build your bowl. A layer of rice, a layer of chicken, top with some cheese sprinkle on your red bell pepper and your tomatoes, and finally top with a little scoop of Greek yogurt. Done.

2 Comments on “Burrito Bowls”

  1. Kizzo says:

    OMG YAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAY!


Leave a Reply

