Mango Pancakes

A few weeks ago I went to brunch at a little Cuban restaurant with some friends. A few days later, I went back for lunch. Cuban food is amazing. Lots of pork, plantains, yucca frittas, and of course, mango.

Everything we ate on both visits was really delicious but the giant mango pancake we shared was so simple and so yummy, I knew I had to try to replicate it. Lucky for me, there were some delicious looking mangoes at Whole Foods the other day and I snatched up a juicy looking one. I let it sit on the counter for five days to make sure it was completely ripened before using. One thing about exotic fruits is that you often have to buy them under ripe, then let them ripen on your counter. But a sweet, ripe mango is a delicious thing so I let it sit and do its work.

I wasn’t sure, actually, what I wanted to make with this mango. I thought about a fruit salad but wasn’t really feeling it. I thought about mixing it in with my morning yogurt and granola, which would have been delicious but then I remembered the giant mango pancake and realized I had to make one for myself. Or maybe just a stack of normal sized pancakes.

The mango provides so much sweetness to the pancake, it almost tastes like dessert. You should, of course, still use syrup as you wish. I know I did. And because savory and sweet are the best of friends, serve up these mango-cakes with eggs and bacon.

Mango Pancakes

1 3/4 cups flour

1 egg

1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoons salt

1 tablespoon sugar

1 cup buttermilk

2 tablespoons oil

1 large mango, peeled and grated. Reserve 1/8th of the mango for garnish.

Let the shredded mango drain in a mesh sieve for about five minutes to remove any excess water.

Mix all other ingredients together until the batter is only slightly lumpy. Add in the mango and stir until incorporated.

If the batter is extremely thick, add water 1 tablespoon at a time. If the batter seems too thin and runny, add flour 1 tablespoon at a time.

Cook on a griddle over medium-high heat. These cakes take a bit longer than traditional pancakes since the mango provides more moisture. To speed cooking, cover the pancakes for the first side of cooking. Leave uncovered after flipping.

Garnish with remaining mango and serve with maple syrup.

2 Comments on “Mango Pancakes”

  1. Kate says:

    YESSSS mango pancakes. We should go there again when I get back!


Leave a Reply

