Carrot and Zucchini Tart

I made a trip to our garden plot earlier this week. I think most of the other gardeners have given up for the season. I was happy to find a ton of stuff growing, even though we really haven’t been very diligent in our care and watering regimen. I took home around 100 bright red cherry tomatoes, one large green tomato, and an armful of heirloom carrots.

The garden is by no means done, a new head of broccoli has sprouted and we have several small peppers and tomatoes that will hopefully keep going. The basil is flourishing too.

I could have left the carrots but I had plans for them. This spring we ate some carrots that we’d missed the previous fall. Apparently they are Minnesota-winter hearty. Most things are not so that’s impressive.

With my arms full of purple heirloom carrots I headed home to try out a new recipe. One that Senor and I both loved. Senor so much that he said, ‘See, we could be vegetarians if we wanted to.’ This recipe was really an excuse to use my tart pan. Its been sitting in my cupboard since June.

I thought about simply roasting the carrots. I’ve been on a roasting kick lately. They would have been delicious, I’m sure. But my carrots were all different sizes. Plus, I wanted to incorporate zucchini into the meal. I figured zucchini and carrots baked into a pie crust couldn’t be gross. I was right. It was delish.

Carrots, zucchini and leeks were all finely chopped and sauteed until the leeks were transparent. Baked in a pie crust and topped with crumbled goat cheese, this dish offers sweet, savory and pie crust all in one. Yes, pie crust is one of the major food groups. Clearly.


Carrot and Zucchini Tart

for pie crust

1 1/4 cups flour

1/2 cup lard

1/2 teaspoon salt

4 tablespoons cold water

for filling

4 medium carrots

2 medium zucchini

1 leek

1 egg

3/4 milk

1 tablespoon butter, melted

2 ounces crumbled goat cheese

Mix the flour, lard, salt and water in a bowl with a pastry cutter or fork. Form together with your fingers until the crust is a dense ball of dough. Roll out the dough and place in a greased tart pan. *You can use butter or shortening in place of lard if desired. Lard lends to a flakier crust than the others. Unless you’re vegan, please don’t use vegetable shortening.

Bake at 375º for 15 minutes with pie weights, dried beans, or rice in the shell to keep from puffing. Remove after 15 minutes.

For the filling:

Chop one zucchini and two carrots into small cubes. Slice the leek into thin pieces. Add a tablespoon of butter to a skillet and saute the veggies over medium heat until the leeks are translucent and the carrots are just starting to soften.

Place cooked vegetables in pre-cooked pie crust. Top with crumbled goat cheese.

Whisk egg and milk together in a separate bowl. Gently pour egg and milk mixture over the vegetables.

Top the tart with thinly sliced rounds of zucchini and carrot. Spray lightly with olive oil and season with a sprinkle of garlic.

Bake for 35 minutes at 350, or until the carrots are tender and the edges are slightly blackened. Serve with raw carrot shavings.

One Comment on “Carrot and Zucchini Tart”

  1. Jessica T says:

    Ooh! I have zucchini to use too! This sounds so good. 😀


Leave a Reply

