Zucchini Bread

The first time I ever made zucchini bread I was living in an apartment, freshly graduated from college with very few kitchen utensils. I had bought a 5-in-one cheese device at a garage sale for a quarter. It was a knife, shredder/grater, slicer, poker and also, a bottle opener. Not sure how that works in with the cheese but I needed something and it was only a quarter. The holes for shredding were five across and four deep. That’s right. A postage-stamp-sized area for shredding. Still I could shred.

So when the urge to make zucchini bread hit me I realized I could shred the zucchini on my tiny little cheese grater! It took me almost an hour to finely grate two medium sized zucchini. After that day I told myself never again would I use such an inadequate tool for my beloved zucchini bread.

Senor often wonders and grumbles at my insistence of keeping my kitchen stocked, overflowing even, with gadgets, tools and cookware. It’s because of memories like this one, after which I vowed to myself to keep my kitchen fully stocked. I once made chocolate chip cookies using tea cups because I had no measuring cups. I’ve frosted cupcakes with ziploc bags. Frosted cakes with a butter knife. And you know, every time I get the proper implement, my life changes dramatically. A bit over zealous? Yes, of course. That’s how I roll. But you will never catch me trying to puree soup sans immersion blender, knead bread dough without my Kitchenaid, make bean dip without my Cuisinart, or make zucchini bread without a proper cheese grater. The big box kind with four options is best. Unless you have a food processor, you would be better off buying pre-grated zucchini for this recipe. You have been warned.

I’ve always loved zucchini. When I was a kid I would find the biggest, most giant ones in my mom’s garden and would cradle them like a baby. Yes, it was love. They’re delicious, who wouldn’t love them? At our house we devour them this time of year when they are plentiful. The only reason I even made this bread was because I had bought so many zucchinis that when I roasted them, I had a few too many. If you find yourself in the same predicament, please make this bread. It’s so easy. It’s so dang delicious. And the longer you let it sit on your counter, the more delicious it gets. Amazing right? Do it right away, you won’t be sorry. And if you have more patience than me and can wait until it’s slightly cool to cut it.

Zucchini Bread

3 eggs

1 cup oil

2 cups shredded zucchini

1 1/2 cups sugar

1/4 teaspoon baking powder

2 teaspoons baking soda

1 teaspoon salt

2 tablespoons vanilla

2 teaspoons cinnamon

2 cups flour

Shred 1-2 medium size zucchinis. You want at least 2 cups of shredded zucchini, although the measurement does not have to be exact. Once shredded, place the zucchini in a mesh strainer. Using paper towels on the top, push the water out of the zucchini. This is the most important step of this process. Try to get as much water out of the zucchini as possible.

Using a whisk, mix together the oil, sugar eggs and vanilla.

Switch to a wooden spoon and add the zucchini and stir.

Add the salt, soda, powder, cinnamon and flour. Stir until well incorporated.

Pour the batter into a well-greased bread loaf pan. 9×3 works best. Bake at 350º for 60-75 minutes. A toothpick inserted into the center of the bread should come out clean.

7 Comments on “Zucchini Bread”

  1. Jessica T says:

    I fail at cooking, I’m not sure I’ve ever drained my zucchini before making my bread!
    And you’re right, the perfect kitchen gadget makes life so much easier.

  2. Looks seriously amazing. Nice one.

  3. Lisa says:

    I made this recipe yesterday. It is so good! Thank you for sharing!

  4. Kelly Newcomer says:

    I’m intrigued… about how much water do you think should I try and get out of the zucchini? Will it just start dripping out the bottom?

    I’ve never heard of this step. Where did you learn to do that? I’ll have to try.

    • Alisha says:

      If you put the shredded zucchini in a mesh strainer, just layer some paper towels on top and push down firmly. Water will run out of the strainer. Give it a toss and repeat 2-3 times with fresh paper towels. You can get quite a bit of water out, although I’ve never measured. It speeds up the baking time and also, the flour measurement for my recipe is adjusted for strained zucchini. It should only take about 30 seconds of your time to squeeze out the moisture. 🙂


Leave a Reply

