Black Bean Corn and Chipotle Salsa


I hate the end of summer. Hate, hate, hate. I was deliriously happy to discover that we hit a 5-day 80-degree or higher heat wave post labor-day. I swam in my sisters pool. I wore flip flops and short sleeves after dark. I relished the lingering warmth. It’s all about to leave forever (until next June) and I am clinging to every moment of sunshine and warmth that I can. Next June I will marry Senor and that is SO exciting. Still, I’d rather not rush into fall and winter. Fall is okay. Winter is wretched.

Despite my loathing of cooler weather there are a few pluses that I’m trying to focus on. One is that cooler evenings are better for sleeping. Another is the bountiful harvest that fall brings. The market this weekend was overrun with bushels of tomatoes, peppers and beans. Boxes full of giant zucchini for $1 were stacked under tables. Potatoes, cabbages, summer squash, eggplant, onions, greens and even a few fall squash lined tables. The ears of sweet corn are everywhere and every single table was overflowing with produce. I wanted to buy some of everything just because it’s there and it’s locally grown and so, so soon, it’ll all be gone.

This time of year does get me excited for canning. Salsa is on the list again this year and even though it’s a lot of work, it’s also a lot of fun and so damn delicious. I would like to make pickles (hint, hint Mom!) and maybe do freezer green beans? It may end up just being salsa and that’s okay. We’re eating our last jar of last year’s batch this week so the time has definitely come.

I thought I would ease myself into the swing of salsa-making by whipping up a fresh batch with the bountiful harvest I had at my disposal. Our cherry tomato tree went crazy and we had dozens of tomatoes that were about to be too ripe. We also had three leftover ears of oven-roasted corn in the fridge. Seemed like a no-brainer right? I also had dried chipotles on hand, so chipotle salsa it became. I just bought a giant bag of fresh jalapenos and fully plan to make another fresh salsa with those. Yum!

Black Bean and Corn Chipotle Salsa

30-40 cherry tomatoes, halved

1 standard tomato, chopped into cubes

1 cup cooked and rinsed black beans

3 ears or about 1 cup of corn

2 dried chipotle peppers

1 small lime

1 large bunch cilantro, finely diced

1/2 teaspoon sea salt

Combine the tomatoes, beans, corn and cilantro in a large bowl and mix well.

Sprinkle on the sea salt and toss.

Squeeze the lime over the entire mixture and mix again to incorporate.

Chop the chipotles into extremely fine pieces. Use a hand chopper to get the peppers pulverized to tiny pieces. Add to the salsa and mix extremely well.

Serve immediately. Store any unused salsa in the refrigerator and eat within a few days.

Leave a Reply

