Chocolate Chip Banana Bread


Banana bread and zucchini bread were staples of my childhood. When I went to college the realization that Breadsmith was just a block away and offered chocolate chip studded banana muffins and breads was a glorious and horrifying discovery. Who knew that banana bread could have chocolate instead of vile chopped nuts? *Disclaimer, I hate nuts in baked goods unless it is a very specific nut-based good. While whole nuts are delicious I despise all chopped nuts in anything baked. This does not pertain to ice cream treats, salads, or any other kind of dish. But nuts, in my world, do not go into batter and then into the oven. No.

Anyway, realizing this was life-altering. Ages ago I perfected my zucchini bread recipe. And it really is divine. I just ate a piece of it earlier today. But for some reason banana bread always sort threw me through a loop. Sometimes too banana-y, sometimes a bit dry. The chocolate chips have to be the decadent bit that pushes this bread into dessert land, not the glue that holds the thing together.

No, the bread itself must be what holds it together. The divine little bits of chocolate have to be the icing. You don’t eat cake just for the icing, surely you wouldn’t eat banana bread just for the chocolate chips. I can happily say that would devour this banana bread sans chips any day of the week. That said, make it with the chocolate unless you suffer from a chocolate aversion of sorts.

Chocolate Chip Banana Bread

1 1/2 cup sugar
1 cup butter, softened
1/4 cup milk
3 eggs
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/8 teaspoon ground ginger
3 large bananas
2 cups all-purpose flour
1 cup whole wheat flour
2 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
1 regular sized bag of semi sweet chocolate chips

In a bowl cream sugar and butter until light and fluffy. Beat in eggs, vanilla, cinnamon, ginger and bananas until thoroughly mixed. If you’re using frozen bananas be sure to let them thaw completely!

Add flour, salt and soda and mix until just combined. Stir in chips.

Bake in two greased 9×3 loaf pan for 60 minutes at 350º. A toothpick inserted into the center of the loaves should come out clean.

6 Comments on “Chocolate Chip Banana Bread”

  1. It looks delicious. That’s my next dessert attempt with my boyfriend!

  2. Jessica says:

    Holy yum. Why have I never added chocolate chips to my banana bread?!

  3. abby hartman says:

    That picture looks so incredible I just licked my screen.

  4. Oh wow, they look perfect. This is one of my favourite “cakes”… banana bread with chocolate is just the best. I would suggest using very dark chocolate chunks as the flavour really comes through and you get bigger chunks. Looks really perfect though. Srummy.

  5. Bo Seabolt says:

    Ola!, amazing post! I will keep surfing your blog 😉


Leave a Reply

