Whole Wheat Garlic Pita Chips

I’m happy to tell you all that Buddy is doing much better post surgery. We’re still waiting to hear the results of the pathology on his spleen and tumor, but from what Senor and I can tell, he’s feeling much, much better. He certainly is more lively and definitely ready to have adventures.

Besides spending hours on my sofa, hugging my dogs obsessively I’ve been a busy bee this long holiday weekend. On Saturday I went to a flea market with my parents which is always fun. We’re actually shopping most of the time for cute, unique plates to use at our wedding reception next summer. Other items tend to make their way into my hands though. Most amazing of my finds are always cookbooks from the 1950’s. In addition to my grandma’s old Betty Crocker Cookbook, I recently procured a 1958 Spice Guide as well as a 1959 Betty Crocker Guide to Entertaining. They are amazing. To top it off, my final find of the weekend was at the used book store. A current Better Homes and Garden’s Cookbook that is actually a reprint of the 1953 checkered book. It is AMAZING and I love it. I sat down last night and read it pretty much cover to cover. Pure love. Some of the recipes are a little weird…I don’t think I’ll be adding cream of mushroom or tomato soup to my spaghetti anytime soon (ew!) but some of them are also pure genius. I anticipate a lot of trials in the future with my new cookbook booty. (PS I propose we all start using ‘booty’ as a term for goods stolen by pirates so that it’s not removed from the dictionary. It was a recent proposal that since ‘booty’ is almost always used to refer to a backside, it shouldn’t be defined as pirate’s stolen goods. I say, we fight back. I use that word damn it!) I spent a cozy Saturday evening reading my fifties cooking guides and sharing with Senor the more comical portions of the etiquette guide.

On Sunday a trip to the zoo was in order. Senor and I love the zoo. We usually go a few times a year. We’ve already gone to the free, local zoo three times this year. Not only is it free, but it’s only a few minutes away. There are lions and a tiger and bears….and pumas and snow leopards and gorillas and giraffes and seals and a bunch of other zoo-like animals. And some bison, which you can see on farms off the highway. Still, the free zoo is always worth a visit on a nice day.

And on the holiday itself it suddenly got really, really hot. Like, 88 degrees at 6 o’clock at night hot. Making the most of the heat we packed up our wet laundry and hauled ourselves over to my parents house to use their most excellent clothes lines. Seriously, there is nothing more relaxing and delicious than line-dried bedding. In fact, the heavenly sent of fresh linens is about to put me right to sleep.

Before I let it take over, I want to share a recipe that I’ve been making lately for Senor and myself. Pita chips are the perfect vehicle for transferring hummus from a container to your mouth. It just so happens that I purchased a tub of Deena’s Roasted Red Pepper and Feta hummus at the farmer’s market this weekend. To die for. I’d give you more info, but I think you have to be in Minnesota to purchase. She’s at the Farmer’s Market and her storefront is on Marshall in St. Paul. Super local and delicious. Seriously, the container is now gone just 36 hours later.

Anyway, pita chips are the perfect vehicle for shoving giant clumps of creamy hummus in your face. I’ve had the packaged kind and they’re good, but the freshly made kind are so much more delicious. And they’re so easy to make, it seems downright silly to buy them.

Whole Wheat Pita Chips

6 whole wheat pitas, cut into pieces

1/3 cup olive oil

Garlic powder, Garlic salt, Mrs. Dash’s onion seasoning

Heat your oven to 375º.

On a cutting board, cut a pita in half using a pizza cutter. Then, cut each half into fourths so you have eight strips of pita. Repeat with each pita until all six are cut into pieces.

Place the cut pitas into a gallon sized plastic storage bag with a sealing top. Add the olive oil and a sprinkling of garlic, garlic salt and seasoning blend. Start off lightly, a little goes a long way and you can always sprinkle on a bit more seasoning before baking.

Seal the bag and shake the pita chips back and forth to coat. Be sure to turn the bag upside down for a few seconds to ensure all of the olive oil is absorbed by the chips.

Spread the seasoned chips on a cookie sheet. Sprinkle with additional seasoning if desired.

Bake for 20-30 minutes or until desired crispiness is reached. Let cool, then store in a clean plastic storage bag.

2 Comments on “Whole Wheat Garlic Pita Chips”

  1. Jessica says:

    I’m glad to hear that Buddy is doing well! It sounds like you had a great weekend.

    I happen to have a bag of store bought pita chips at my desk, I’ll have to try and make them home-made!

  2. emily says:

    glad your furry friend is recovering well!
    and you blogged about 2 of my absolute fave foods. 🙂


Leave a Reply

