Crab Cake Eggs Benedict

>

Carrying on with my love of eggs, I give you a breakfast that’s lighter than Chipotle Chicken Fried Steak but a bit heavier than Baked Eggs with Spinach, Chevre and Tomatoes. When I started making this brunch I had no intention of blogging about it. I figured it wouldn’t be blog-worthy, just whip up a little brunch for us on Sunday afternoon. Senor works until 1 on Sundays so I always have a lot of time to play in the kitchen, thus the lavish brunches. Still, I wasn’t planning on anything spectacular. Even after I got the idea, I didn’t think to get my camera until I had the crab cakes in the skillet. Then all of a sudden I realized the creation was maybe going to be epic.

Earlier in the morning I had made roasted orange pepper hummus from scratch. I used Pioneer Woman’s infinite wisdom of pepper roasting (although I skipped the Ziploc bag step) to roast an orange bell pepper and mixed it with a can of chickpeas, some garlic, and some olive oil. The hummus is super tasty and I figured I wanted to incorporate it into our brunch. Then I saw that I had a can of lump crab meat in the cupboard and half a sleeve of saltine crackers. And I had it. Why not make an Eggs Benedict style brunch with crab cakes for the base and the hummus for a sauce instead of your typical Hollandaise sauce? Genius if I do say so myself.

I think I’d made crab cakes once before…or maybe I’d just had them in a restaurant a while ago. Hard to say. They’re not hard to make though so I just whipped them up and tossed them in the pan to brown. I made them a bit thinner than you typically would since they were a base for eggs to sit on. The eggs were done over easy. Finally the sauce was a few teaspoons of hummus thinned out with a bit of milk and a small squeeze of horseradish sauce.

I made these crab cakes with a can of lump crab meat, 5 saltine crackers, 2 tablespoons of panko bread crumbs, 3 tablespoons of shredded Parmesan and 2 tabelspoons of mayonnaise all mixed together. Add some chopped green onions, a pinch of kosher salt and garlic and you’re set. Once you form the crab cakes into patties, coat each side with more panko bread crumbs. Fry in a skillet that’s well-coated in olive oil until each side is golden brown. Top with fried eggs and serve with warmed hummus sauce.


Crab Cakes
makes 6 thin crab cakes

1 can lump crab meat, rinsed and drained

5 crushed saltine crackers

2 Tablespoons Panko breadcrumbs

2 Tablespoons mayonnaise

3 green onions, chopped finely

3 Tablespoons shredded Parmesan cheese

Salt, pepper and garlic to taste

Mix all ingredients together in a bowl. Form into six evenly sized balls. Flatten them out to form the cakes and then pat each side with more Panko breadcrumbs. Fry the cakes in hot skillet with oil. I used olive oil, just enough to coat the pan. Fry over medium-high heat, flipping once the first side is golden. About five minutes per side. Once done, remove cakes and place on a plate too cool while you cook your eggs as desired. I used the same skillet so the eggs got some of the crab cakes bits charred into them. Delicious.



 

Hummus Sauce

4 Tablespoons hummus, roasted pepper variety is preferable. If you’d like to make your own, see below.

3 Tablespoons milk

1/2 teaspoon horseradish sauce

Whisk ingredients together in a small glass bowl. Microwave for one minute. Remove and stir. Continue to microwave and stir until the mixture is hot. If it’s too thick, add more milk. Too thin, add another minute in the microwave. Pour over eggs just before serving.

Orange Bell Pepper Hummus

1 Orange Bell Pepper, roasted over a gas burner or in a broiler (Pioneer Woman style)

1 can Chickpeas/Garbanzo beans

1 tsp garlic powder

2 tsp olive oil

4 tsp water

Chop bell pepper into slices and blend in a food processor with the beans, garlic, olive oil and water. If the mixture is too thick, add more water. You can also add tahini for flavor. I would have but SuperTarget apparently doesn’t carry it which is extremely frustrating. Save a few slices of bell pepper and dice as a garnish for the top. Enjoy on pita chips, Triscuits, toast, or veggies. Or, thin and serve over eggs and crab cakes!


2 Comments on “Crab Cake Eggs Benedict”

  1. Rachel says:

    >Mmm, a combo of two of my favorite things….crabcakes and eggs. Looks delish!

  2. Jessica says:

    >Um, I love crab and I love that you made a hummus sauce. I'm drooling.


Leave a Reply

