Chocolate Oreo Crunch Cookie

>


I love reading food blogs. The major problem with reading them is that I want to make everything I see, RIGHT NOW. For example, the stuffed cookies over at Picky Palate? OMG. I showed Senor the pictures of each variety and it’s only an overwhelming desire to fit into my pants that keeps me from making them all. So bad! When crunchy, chocolaty, oreoy cookies showed up on How Sweet It Is, I knew I was doomed. I can surely find a reason why I neeeeeeeed to make these, right? Maybe I can alter the recipe just enough so that I can say, “well, it was really for the blog. That’s why I made them.” When really, I made them so that I could stuff my face with them. You should do the same because, well, they’re worth it. 


These cookies have cocoa powder in them, so really they’re like health food with all of those antioxidants. And oreos are good for your skin. Right? Honestly, I made these and ran the calorie count through the Daily Plate and for two cookies (the recipe below should yield 60) the calorie count was similar to two oreo cookies. Of course, just eating two is impossible, so you’re warned in advance. They are amazingly delicious. I did make some changes to the original recipe which can be found here. I wanted to play up the rich dark chocolaty-ness with a bit of saltiness and definitely wanted to increase the oreo crunchiness. I’d say, they turned out pretty well. By which I mean, they are amazing.

 
Chocolate Oreo Crunch Cookies

1 cup butter softened but still chilled

1 1/2 cups sugar

2 eggs

1 tablespoon vanilla

2 cups flour

1/2 cup cocoa powder

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon kosher salt

1/2 a bag of milk chocolate chips

15 crushed Oreo cookies

Add flour, cocoa, baking soda and salt to a bowl and whisk together. Set aside.

In an electric mixer, cream together butter, sugar, eggs and vanilla until light and fluffy. About five minutes. Add in the dry ingredients a little at a time and mix on low. If you add them all in at once and turn on your mixer, you will have a cloud of cocoa powder and flour that will choke you. Trust me. Mix until well incorporated.

Stir in the chips and oreos. Refrigerate dough for 30 minutes or until it’s chilled through. I used frozen chocolate chips so it self-chilled much faster. Use a cookie scooper to scoop out round balls of dough. Using the cookie scoop, this recipe yielded 60 cookies for me.

Bake at 350 for 12-14 minutes. Enjoy piping hot, cooled, or frozen. (If you freeze them they’ll taste like fudge!)



On a related note (trust me, it’s directly related to these cookies) I started the Couch to 5k program this week. I decided it was vital if I’m going to be making fudgey little bits of heaven. I’m not inactive though, I already do cardio several times a week but I’d like to be able to run long distances without my legs falling off the next day. I tend to get bored with workouts, so if I can run one day and bike the next, it’s probably a good idea….and theoretically I like the sound of being able to run (slowly) for long distances. I have to say, the first workout was pretty easy. I know it’s supposed to ease you in, but it was so short! 30 minutes including warm up and cool down? Sheesh. That’s only slightly enough for me to validate a short cookie fest. I think I might need to make the next one a little longer, so as to allow for further cookie-stuffing. 


Leave a Reply

