Creamy Chicken Soup

>Do you remember in December when it looked like this out my kitchen window?

Well, after a week of 40 and 50 degree weather, all of that awful snow was melted. You could see grass and the parking lot was pretty much clear of snow. And then, the apocalypse hit. And tonight the view out my window is this. Again.

It started yesterday at 10 am and the last time I looked outside, it was still freaking snowing. It’s 9pm. It has to stop sometime right? I suppose the snow has its perks. Mainly one perk and that was Senor getting a day off and me telecommuting today. Of course, on the down side, my car looked like this, this morning. 
So once again, I’ve spent two days inside. How best to amuse myself? Trying new recipes and cooking up a storm, obviously. Yesterday I made more of the most delicious blueberry muffins ever, seven chicken burritos and a giant batch of blueberry pancakes. All of these things can be frozen and easily reheated, so the freezer is stocked for quick meals and snacks. Today I figured I’d try out new recipes. I really love reading Jessica’s recipes at HowSweetItIs and it seemed like the perfect opportunity to make a new soup recipe. I mean, how much longer will I want to make soup recipes? See, look at me being optimistic about spring! 
Jessica’s recipe is for a creamy chicken brie soup which you can find here. I, of course, had to make some edits. Namely, adding a few more veggies, omitting the ‘whisk in a roux’ step because quite honestly I hate doing that, and using Camembert instead of brie because it’s what I had in the fridge. It all worked out in the end. 

This soup, like most soup, was really easy to make. It didn’t really take much time or effort either, so if you have the ingredients, a big knife, and a pot then you’re all set. Go make it, you will like it, I swear. 
Creamy Cheesy Chicken Soup
2 Tbl olive oil
5 cloves of garlic, chopped

1 small head of cabbage, chopped roughly (discard the tough center portion)

2 cups of spinach, chopped roughly
1 red bell pepper, chopped
1 red onion, chopped finely
2 leeks, chopped finely
2 small red potatoes, 2 small yellow potatoes (or 4 of one kind)
fresh cilantro to taste (I used half a bunch)
6-8 ounces of soft, creamy cheese (brie, Camembert, etc.) cubed
14 oz chicken breast, cooked and shredded
2 cartons of chicken broth, low sodium 
1 cup of milk
1 cup of sour cream
1/4 cup of flour
Heat the oil in a stock pot on medium and begin chopping the veggies. Add the cabbage, spinach, bell pepper, red onion, leeks, potatoes and cilantro and stir to coat with the oil. Continue to toss as the veggies cook down. My stock pot was over half full when the veggies were raw, but we ended up with the perfect amount once everything cooked down. 
Once the veggies are soft, add the chicken broth and milk and turn the heat up to high to bring to a boil. Add in the cheese, chicken and season to taste with salt and pepper. Once boiling, add the sour cream and whisk to mix. To thicken, take a cup of boiling broth out of the soup, whisk in the flour, then add the mixture back to the stock pot. 
Let simmer for 20 minutes, until the potatoes are soft. Serve hot and try not to lick the bowl when you’re done. But no worries, I won’t tell if you do. 
2 Comments on “Creamy Chicken Soup”

  1. Jessica says:

    >If I had that amount of snow, I would eat nothing but that soup. It looks amazing.Hope it melts soon for you guys, I'm soooo ready for Spring.

  2. Mateja ^_^ says:

    >Loads of snow and one comfy loaded bowl of soup and suddenly snow doesn't sounds so bad anymore! Thank you for sharing 🙂


Leave a Reply

