Barbecue Chicken Pizza

>I think I make a pretty delicious pasta sauce from scratch. I can do it with a bunch of tomatoes, with a jar of tomato sauce, a can of tomato puree, or just some olive oil and white wine. Whatever, I can do it. The one thing I have never been able to manage is making a good, delicious pizza sauce from scratch. I’ve made okay sauces. But they’re never great. I think I’ve come to recognize that this is something that I can’t do. Maybe someone wiser than me will teach me how to do it someday, but really, I’m not too worried. I can rely on pizza places for the traditional pizza sauce and I’m pretty satisfied with that decision. What happens though when you want pizza but no money to purchase said pizza? Well, then you make your own with the things you have in the fridge.

This pizza happened sometime after the turkey roasting and before the end of 2010. We both wanted pizza but neither of us wanted to pay for it or go out and get it. After surveying the fridge, I realized I had all the ingredients necessary for a BBQ or buffalo chicken pizza. Actually, I probably always have these ingredients laying around. They are staples after all. Yes, blue cheese crumbles are a staple.

All in all, I think this pizza took about an hour from start to finish, which included not only cooking the chicken that was frozen but also making the dough from scratch. I probably could have saved myself a lot of time if I’d had cooked chicken ready to go but we’re not all prepared all of the time. I didn’t fool around with trying to invent my own pizza crust recipe, I knew that would never work. I just followed this recipe from All Recipes. I, however, omitted the cornmeal that their recipe calls for because I think it’s gross and unnecessary. To each their own.

 1 (.25 ounce) package active dry yeast
 1 cup warm water (110 degrees to 115 degrees)
 2 tablespoons vegetable oil
 1 teaspoon sugar
 1/4 teaspoon salt
 2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

I followed their first step directions:
In a large mixing bowl, dissolve yeast in warm water. Add the oil, sugar, salt and 1-1/2 cups flour. Beat until smooth. Stir in enough remaining flour to form a firm dough. Turn onto a floured surface; cover and let rest for 10 minutes.

But deviated after that. Their recipe tells you to roll it out, sprinkle a pan with cornmeal, and pre-bake the crust at 425º for 12-15 minutes. I did not do this step. I simply rolled it out and started adding toppings. I used a pizza stone and the crust was the perfect golden brown when the cheese was melted and bubbling, so I think that my method worked out well. Mmm, bubbling cheese!

I rolled the dough thinly and it was still a good ‘hand-tossed’ thickness, so keep that in mind when rolling. It will puff up.

For the toppings I used:

14 oz chicken breast, pan cooked and chopped into small pieces
Sweet Baby Ray’s BBQ Sauce
Franks Sweet Heat Sauce
Red onion – chopped finely
shredded mozzarella
blue cheese crumbles
green onions, chopped
banana pepper rings (optional, these would have been awesome on our pizza but we were all out!)

I did not measure the ingredients, but I used probably about half a cup of BBQ and half a cup of Sweet Heat. The Frank’s Sweet Heat has a bit more kick to it than regular BBQ sauce, so it had a little bit more of a buffalo chicken feel. Not much, just a little something more than your typical barbecue.

Squeeze a light layer of sauce onto the crust and smooth evenly. Toss chicken in the sauce of your choosing until it’s well covered. Layer the chicken on top of the pizza crust. Sprinkle with chopped red onions and blue cheese crumbles. Top with shredded mozzarella and bake at 425º for 25-30 minutes, or until cheese is melted in the center.

Before slicing the pizza, add sliced green onions and extra blue cheese crumbles to the top. Eat immediately and try not to burn your mouth on the gooey goodness. One more time, for good measure.




2 Comments on “Barbecue Chicken Pizza”

  1. Jessica says:

    >Sweet baby rays and sticky fingers are my two FAVE brands of barbecue sauce, this pizza sounds AMAZING.

  2. Mateja ^_^ says:

    >Mouthwatering slice of pizza, thank you for sharing 🙂


Leave a Reply

