Maple Sugar Cookies

>Christmas Cookie Option 3 – Soft Maple Sugar Cookies

Christmas cookie preparation is officially in full swing at Wee house. As in, I have frozen cookie dough in the freezer, ready to slice and bake while other cookie dough is in the fridge, also ready to be rolled out and baked whenever I have a chance to do it. I made a trip to a specialty baking store this weekend to get the food coloring, decorating, and odds and ends that I need for the baking extravaganza of 2010. I think I even have my line-up ready for gifting and parties.

For gifting:
Mint/Chocolate Checkerboards
Chocolate and Vanilla Pinwheels
Chocolate Chip
Sugar Cookie Cut-Outs with Cream Cheese Frosting
Red Velvet Shortbreads
Maple Sugar Sugar Cookie

For parties:
Oreo Balls
Frosted Sugar cookies
Chocolate Chips

I even got all natural food color at the cake store! They don’t have red, so I had to stick with the chemical kind for that…but the yellow is made of beta carotene, the blue is made from red cabbages, and the green is made from a variety of green vegetables. I hope they look nice! They were hella expensive. $13.50 for the green while the chemical stuff is $3.50. Luckily, they were 50% off so I didn’t feel nearly as bad about buying them. Whew. I can’t understand why there’s no red though. Beets anyone? Beets, tomatoes, and carrots would no doubt give you a nice fire-engine red. The carrots would counteract the purple-iness of the beets. I bet they could do it if they wanted. Hrmph.

Anyway, when I made the Maple Sugar cookies though, I didn’t have any maple syrup. We never have maple syrup so I had to make a conscious effort to remember it at the store the other day. I made them the first time with Mrs. Butterworth’s Lite Pancake Syrup. They were DELICIOUS. Honestly, some of the best cookies I’ve ever had. I’m going to try them out in a small batch with the real stuff, but will probably make another batch or two with the pancake syrup. My mom hates real maple syrup, but I think she’ll really like them with Mrs. Butterworth’s substitution.


These cookies manage to accomplish the feat of all sugar cookies. Be almost crisp on the inside while being soft, chewy and tender on the inside. At your first bite you think it’s going to be crumbly and it had a sort of crumble-melt-in-your-mouth quality that’s delightful. But then you realize the middle is soft and chewy and while the outer layer is melting in your mouth the inside is giving your teeth something to sink into. Amazing.

Honestly, I think these are the best cookie recipe I’ve found so far, not counting my chocolate chip cookies which are, if I may say so myself, to die for.

The recipe said to make a maple frosting but I feel like frosting might ruin these. They’re already so sweet and they’re soft and chewy and I think a drizzle of frosting might take away from how kick-ass the cookie part it. Even Senor who is very pro-frosting all of the time agreed. No frosting necessary, they’re that good.

Maple Sugar Cookies

1/2 cup butter, softened
1/2 cup shortening
1 1/2 cups sugar
1/4 cup brown sugar
1/4 maple syrup
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon cream of tartar
1/8 teaspoon salt
3 egg yolks
1/2 teaspoon vanila
1 3/4 c flour

Cream together the butter and shortening. Add both sugars, the maple syrup, and the vanila. Beat until smooth. Add the egg yolks one at a time. Add the baking soda, cream of tartar and flour (for the record, I didn’t have cream of tartar but you can substitute baking soda/baking powder mixture. Just plug it into google to find out the right amounts) and mix until you have a dough that doesn’t stick to your finger but is still tacky. 


Roll the dough into 1-inch balls and place on a cookie sheet. Bake at  300º for 12-14 minutes until edges are just barely lightly brown. 

2 Comments on “Maple Sugar Cookies”

  1. Jessica says:

    >Oh my, I need to make these. I'm a huge maple fan. Thank you for sharing! Never heard of this recipe. 🙂

  2. Lourdes says:

    >These look delicious! I can't wait to try out the recipe! Thank you!Love your blog, btw!xoLourdesi'd love for you to stop by mine if you have a minute!http://lajolielavie.wordpress.com


Leave a Reply

