When your oven breaks…

>Tragedy strikes Wee House!!! Our oven is on the fritz. When did I find this out? As I was about to put two loaves of bread in the oven for baking. Fabulous! Does anyone know how to fix a gas oven? There are actually two problems. 1 – the left, rear burner won’t light, it just clicks a lot. And 2 – the oven lights and glows, but there’s no ‘wooshing’ noise of gas being fed into the heating mechanism and it doesn’t get hot. It gets warm, but not so hot that you can’t touch the metal with your hand. We’ll likely end up calling a repair man later this week. Now, I don’t LOVE my oven or stove. For one thing, it’s only 24 inches. There’s no oven light, no window in the oven door, no timer, no thermometer, no clock, etc. It’s bare bones. Four burners, a knob for the oven and a broiler tray. That is all. However. I adore cooking with a gas stove top and refuse to have an electric range. Yuck. We took a peek at what options were available for possibly upgrading our oven and it’s not pretty. First of all, our bare-bones 24-inch hot point is a $500 range. Yikes! Normal 30 inch ranges start at $199. For the record, if we chopped off the ‘overhang’ on our counter top, we could actually fit a full 30 inch oven, but that may be more work than it’s worth. I thought for sure ours was maybe $200 at most since it’s so basic but apparently you pay for the weird size.

Alas. Does anybody have an oven-repair guy that they adore in Minneapolis?

Once the oven broke, I turned to my lovely and wonderful toaster oven. It’s just big enough for a pyrex 8X8 cooking dish. It’s also big enough for one of my loaf pans (of course, not the loaf pan I had the bread IN, but whatever) and if you use the crumb tray as a cookie sheet, you can bake 8 cookies at a time. This is how I managed to bake two loaves of bread and 40 cookies yesterday, all without an oven. I might have to do an entire post on my toaster oven and the time Senor destroyed it and we had to replace it.

Luckily, we do have that awesome toaster oven. We also have a shiny new crockpot that is gigantic and awesome. I recently acquired a new food processor as well as a Kitchenaid stand mixer. Not to mention, six muffin trays of various sizes and two new deep glass pie plates. In spite of my broken oven, I am ALL set for the holiday baking season. I think I’ll do a post sometime soon about my favorite kitchen implements. Right now I’m lusting after the Kitchenaid mixer attachment that has a spatula all the way around it so it scraps the bowl as it beats on Amazon Can you imagine? Never having to stop to scrape the bowl? OMG.

On a completely unrelated topic, my thighs are out of control. I will explain. Back in April I started counting my calories, etc. I’ve lost some weight but over the past two months it slowed down a lot. I have insulin resistance and hypothyroidism, yadda yadda yadda, losing weight is hard, blah blah blah. I really hate this topic most of the time because honestly, I’ve either heard about it or talked about it a lot in my life. I think most girls probably have.  Senor is a weight-lifting fiend. He goes to the gym at least five days a week, usually six. This summer I decided that in addition to counting calories, I’d go any day that he went too. In July or August I started lifting with him regularly. When my weight loss started to slow in September/October, I decided to take my measurements. I’ve only lost about two pounds since then and I may be getting a wee bit frustrated, although I just go on with my calorie tracking and my workout regimen, which I mix up and adjust every two weeks so I’m constantly being challenged.

At first when I started lifting I didn’t really push myself on the amount of weight. You know, girls don’t want huge bulky muscles and we’re all told that we’re supposed to focus on cardio and light weights and resistance training, right? Then I read an article somewhere that said girls should definitely increase the amount of weight in weight training. The heavier the weights, the more calories you burn, the faster you lose weight, the stronger your muscles, the higher your metabolism, etc. And unless you eat excess calories, you’re not going to bulk up. So I started stacking the weights on. Turns out, I can do WAY more than I thought I could. I lift on Sundays and Wednesdays and usually my muscles are sore the next day. My muscles are starting to not be sore any more after lifting, so I think it’s time to stack on more weight. Anyway, I think that increasing the amount of weight has really made a difference.

Back to my out of control thighs. I’ve only lost two pounds in about six weeks. Annoying right? Yes. Annoying. However. I’ve lost 4.5 inches off of EACH thigh. OMFG. 9 inches off the circumference of my thighs? Since October 5th? Fine by me! Scale, you can say whatever you want. I don’t care. My thighs have shrunk by 9 inches in 40 days. That’s ridiculous right? I agree. I thought I must have measured wrong for sure. I re-measured today, just in case. Nope. Still the same. I measured at the same time of day each time, on the same leg at the same height, using a mirror to make sure it was in the right place and not twisted or something. Holy crap, that’s exciting! I’ve lost inches elsewhere too, but not nearly to the scale of my thighs. My calves, of course, continue to be the thorn in my side. So I guess the moral of my story is, don’t listen to conventional exercising advice and stack on the weights. 

One Comment on “When your oven breaks…”

  1. Jessica says:

    >I've also heard that us ladies should increase our weights when lifting, I thought it was nutso! Slowly, I am increasing my weight and am noticing a difference but I'll have to step it up.Sounds like you are doing awesome with it. 🙂


Leave a Reply

