Christmas Cookies

>

The election last night has left me feeling pretty sad. I’m a pretty liberal girl, living in what is traditionally a very liberal place. This morning when I woke up and looked at the news, my heart sank. As sad as I am, I think I may have done my venting and now I’m going to talk about something that should cheer up anyone. COOKIES!!!!!!!!!! Who doesn’t love cookies?

When I went to Barnes and Noble to buy a stock pile of bridal magazines (glee!) I also picked up a few cookie magazines. They have a whole, giant section of holiday cooking magazines and it hit me that the perfect, easily afforded gifts to give for Christmas are a variety of cookies. My mom makes cookies every year, and they are delicious but they never really vary. They can’t, we’d have a fit. However, there are some awesome recipes out there. So I bought a magazine and picked out some really cool looking delights. I figured that I’d better try out a few of the recipes and make sure they’re as delicious as they look.

The first recipe I decided to try was for Red Velvet shortbread cookies. The recipe was horribly simple. 1 1/2 c of flour
a stick of  butter
2 tablespoons of cocoa
1/4 teaspoon of salt
3/4 c sugar
and a whole lot of red food coloring. Mix it up, roll them out, cut them out and bake them for 325 for 20 minutes.


I love shortbread, who doesn’t, it’s mostly butter. And red velvet just means, an amount of chocolate and red color. What’s not to love? I made the recipe and used a heart-shaped cookie cutter because it seemed appropriate. Unfortunately, I think short breads are supposed to be smaller than a regular cookie. Senor didn’t mind though. I rolled them a bit thick so they were chewy in the middle. They still crumbled. The recipe ended up yielding about 12 cookies….and maybe would have done double that with a smaller cookie cutter.

For the frosting I melted 3oz of white chocolate chips with a teaspoon of crisco and stirred until blended. Then I just poured the frosting on and spread it around a bit. The original recipe said to just drizzle but if a cookie is going to have frosting, it should have frosting, you know?

The cookies were a hit with Senor so I think we have our first variety of Christmas cookie nailed down. Right now I’m thinking 2-3 red velvet confections and at least two mint-chocolate confections . . . and then perhaps something silvery or white to complete the Christmas look. So much baking to do! Huzzah! Also, if you’re wondering, the cookies did not last very long. I think they were all gone within three days, so I take that as a sign that they were sufficiently delicious.

One Comment on “Christmas Cookies”

  1. Jessica says:

    >I've seen a couple recipes for red velvet cookies – I'll have to try yours! YUMMM!!!


Leave a Reply

