Pesto

>

Pesto is one of my favorite dishes for dinner. It’s great because it’s fast to make and it works well in summer, winter, anytime really. I don’t have a recipe for pesto, just a basic knowledge of the ingredients that you toss in, mix together and cook. I don’t know that I’ve ever had a recipe to actually follow because pesto is just one of those dishes where everyone has their own little specifications and preferences.

Tonight I measured and wrote down everything I put into my pesto. Measuring is not something I require in cooking. . . I once made cookies using a teacup for a measuring cup. . . so measuring my pesto ingredients is a big step for me. If I do say so, it was a delicious dinner. I think it had a lot to do with my three-basil blend, fresh from my garden.

Fresh from the Wee Garden
  • 32 g Fresh Basil
  • 38 g Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • 1 whole lemon – juiced
  • 1/4 cup shredded parmesan
  • 6 whole garlic cloves
  • Fresh ground black pepper
  • 16 oz penne pasta
  • 14 oz chicken breast
  • half a tomato

Toss everything except the pasta, tomato and chicken into your food processor (or blender if you don’t have a processor) and blend until fully blended and chopped. The sauce can be smooth or
chunky, it doesn’t really matter. Dump the entire mix over sauteed, cubed chicken breast. Add in chopped tomato and cooked penne. Mix it all around until everything is well coated. Serve immediately with shredded Parmesan and fresh ground pepper on top.

2 Comments on “Pesto”

  1. Jessica T says:

    My basil has come back full force, I thought it was dead! I’ll have to make some of this!

  2. Alisha says:

    Yay! Isn’t that the best, when the garden revives itself? PS sorry if the Google Reader queue is all messed up now. I decided to get around to updating a bunch of headlines that were encrypted from when I switched from Blogger to WordPress and Reader took that as ’70 new posts that were just posted.’ And I can’t seem to fix it. So lame!


Leave a Reply

