>Buttermilk Pancakes

>I grew up in a family with a mother who baked everything from scratch. I don’t think I’d ever eaten instant mix pancakes until I got to college and discovered that instant mix boxes could be purchased for 99 cents and could make 100 pancakes. I also discovered, after much trial and error, that instant pancake mix is disgusting. I’ve tried all the brands, they’re all awful. I remember thinking it was great, you could make pancakes, waffles, bread chicken and all with one genius mix!

We’ve had a box of Hungry Jack in our cupboard for at least two years and I’m fairly certain it’ll never be used again. The other day I was craving pancakes for dinner so I called and got the recipe from my mom that she’s used forever. It was so easy to make that I realized, I should have been using her recipe all along. I thought because they are ‘buttermilk’ pancakes that I’d have to have buttermilk on hand and it was never worth the effort to buy it because I’d never use the whole carton. Then I discovered, you can make your own buttermilk! In the eternal words of my mother, “you just fill up the cup with milk and top the last ‘hair’ of room off with vinegar!” Essentially for every .98 cups of milk, add two teaspoons of vinegar and you’ll have your own buttermilk that isn’t quite as thick but is just as efficient at making fluffy pancakes.

Here’s the recipe:

1 1/4 c Flour
2 tsp. baking powder
1 Tb sugar
1/2 tsp. baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1 egg
1 c buttermilk
2 Tbl oil

Just mix all the liquids together, add the dry stuff, stir until it’s smooth and you’re ready to go. This recipe will make 9 medium-sized pancakes. The beauty of these pancakes is that they take approximately 2 minutes longer to make than the mix kind, they don’t require any ingredients that aren’t already in the standard kitchen, and they taste better than any pre-made mix.

Dissolve sugar in egg and oil

Add buttermilk and whisk

Add soda, salt, powder and flour. Whisk until smooth

Pour batter on a hot, greased skillet (or a well-seasoned cast iron skillet!)

Flip cakes when the surface is covered with bubbles that are popping

The delicious finished product!

Add some bacon, two eggs over easy and syrup and you’ve
got breakfast for dinner. . .or just breakfast!

Leave a Reply

